HP tablet repairs (UPDATE 5) (FINAL UPDATE) (FORUM THREAD)

20121117-212949.jpg

Yes, that’s right. Now my touch smart tx2 has the chipset/GPU problem, a problem faced by with many other hundreds of tx2 or dv6000 owners. (I mentioned the pavilion dv6000 as it has the same chipset as the tx2)

The way this problem occurs is that after a long time of regular usage, usually after the 1 year warranty period, the solder would start to break apart so the GPU would not make a connection and the system would not boot up, instead blinking the keyboard to indicate an error code that according to the HP support website, is an error with the processor, but instead it’s actually the chip next to it, the GPU.

When I do get it back up and running again, I would be able to buy the dock(which is just a cord from the HP proprietary Expansion Port 3 to the actual dock) and also a upgrade to windows 8, turning it into the desktop replacement I always wanted it to be.

UPDATE 18/11/12: It works!!

20121118-231253.jpg
20121118-231318.jpg
The two images above show that the next day after writing this post, I managed to get the system up and running. I used a trick that someone on YouTube posted(as always, I forgot his username) saying that he ran his tx2 for a few hours, while the unit was upside down and that solved his problem. For me, I pressed on the GPU a few times, put the unit back together, than ran it upside down for the rest of the day. Then when I was checking it before putting it in the bag, I turned it on and it started! It asked me to “load default CMOS configuration” which I did, the typical logo screen came up, and I quickly hit F10 to go to the BIOS setup, set the correct time and date(usually in the format HH:MM:SS M/D/YY), then saved and here’s the thing: I thought the video output would glitch out, but instead I got the distinctive Windows 7 animation(the tx2 usually shipped with windows vista, same for the rest of the TX series, but mine came with windows 7 instead, having being manufactured(or should I say, born) on 18 September 2009)*, and it worked! Stay tuned for a screenshot from the system itself…

*= and left in the box in Newstead’s warehouse for a year(Newstead being a major computer retailer here in Singapore) before they brought it to the store somewhere in 2010, and I got love at first sight, except of course for the HP bloatware.

Update 2 – same day – This section was written on the tx2 itself

To-do list:

  1. Buy and install windows 8
  2. Set up fingerprint sensor and touchscreen drivers
  3. Write guide on how to install windows 8 on a touchsmart tx2
  4. Buy an expansion port 3 docking station, either the xb3000 or quickdock 1 or 2

Update 3 – What’s going on?!?

Now it doesn’t work. Going to let it run for a while overnight while it charges the battery.

Update 4 – 19/11/12: Fixing it using a clip

I decided to take a strong clothes clip to the defective GPU and it works. Reinstalling windows.

20121119-204145.jpg
I’ll most likely be using the Microsoft phone system to activate, but if Bluetooth works, I’ll connect to the Internet and activate it that way. (Update 20/11/12 – Used Internet to activate) Tomorrow, if I can get the laptop, err I mean tablet back together, I’ll see if it can run for a few days then I’ll run windows 8 upgrade advisor and buy the windows 8 professional upgrade offer. (Sometimes, it’s good to pay for paid software if you can so that the software companies happier and you won’t be a victim of those DRM stuff(Windows Genuine Advantage is one of them, you get a black background, text on your desktop and a prompt every time you log on if you’re running counterfeit)

20121119-211523.jpg

Update 5 – 20/11/12 – “Clip here, (un)screw there

I decided to turn it on with the clip still in place, it ran in error mode and later, once the fan was running fast, I started it up and it went back to normal mode as usual. But now for a new method. Here’s a simple graphic to show you what I mean. And yes now I’ve the time to put watermarks on my images.

20121121-143007.jpg
Here’s a simple drawing I made showing how I did it. Basically, what I did was that I decided to loosen the side of the heatsink so that the side in contact with the GPU.

20121121-143838.jpg
Also, the heatsink “legs” are numbered, so just unscrew loosen legs 2 and 4. One or two revolutions of the screwdriver should be enough. Then just press down on the GPU and turn on, test. (Without the clip of course, but you can use it if you want and take it off)

I did not take any screenshot of the temperature utility because I thought the temperature sensor was being calibrated, but it was somewhere around 85 degrees if I can still remember. (It’s 185 degrees for the American readers). Tomorrow, I’m going to get some thermal paste. And no it won’t one of those more pricey Arctic ones… Edit: This post will be made into an Instructable once it’s done. Link will be at the top.

Update 6 – Final Update – 22/11/12 – written 2/12/12 – Bad news..

I’m really sorry, but I’ve to break out the bad news…. Wait for it….

It died. Yes. When the unit was finally put back together, it refused to start. Instead, I only got a light that that indicates power going in, and that’s about it. Nothing else happened. I tried to turn it on, nothing. I’ll see if I can adapt the touch panel, fingerprint sensor and webcam to USB.

I’ve made a forum post here.

Leave a Reply

